Russell Hampton
National Awards Services Inc.
The Ojai Rotary Reminder Newsletter
May 19th, 2017
May is Youth Service Month

In the beginning....


Rotary President Bill Gilbreth welcomed Rotarians and Guests.


The meeting was called to order at 12:30 PM. President Gilbreth thanked Matt Clements for leading the club with the flag salute and for his invocation. Matt Clements, Bill Prather, and Bryant Huber were thanked for set up. Ginger was thanked for serving lunch.




Tony Thatcher announced that on Friday, May 26, 7PM the club is sponsoring “Ghost Town to Havana” a documentary about mentoring kids from the U.S. and Cuba and the game they play. Immediately following the movie there will be a Q&A session with the Director and Producer Eugene Corp and Oakland Royals Coach Roscoe Bryant.


President Gilbreth announced that there will be a Memorial Day celebration in Libbey Bowl on May 29th. Boy Scout Troop 504 will be there to sell refreshments. More information will be shared next week.


Program: Ojai Rotary Student Scholarship Presentations



Suzanne Scar was introduced as the Chair of the Educational Foundation and M.C. for the presentation of the Rotary Scholarships. In a packed room, Ms. Scar shared that the Rotary Club of Ojai has provided scholarship assistance for Ojai students for several decades. In 1991, the Club decided it could expand its scholarship program by forming  not-for-profit Foundation that could accept tax-deductible gifts designated for a scholarship endowment program. Over the years, the Club and its Foundation have awarded more than $900k in scholarships to students living in the Ojai Valley. This year the club will distribute $148,000 in scholarships. The Club will also provide another $65,000 in grants and other charitable activities this year to a variety of local community projects and organizations and several worthy international activities.


And the winners are:



Allan Jacobs presented the Eleanor Rupp Memorial Scholarship to Stella Delgado.























                                                                                                                              Allan Jacobs presented Canterbury-McClurley Memorial Scholarships to Nona Golden, Alexis Gomez, Rebekah Gorman, Irene Galindo, Kaylee Brown, and Sachini Rejapaksa.

















































Jack Jacobs presented the Godfrey & Jeanette Jacobs Memorial Scholarship to Juana Garcia.






















Al West presented the Carl Huntsinger Career and Technical Educational Scholarship to Noel Lupercio.




















Dr. Fauvre presented the Ted Fauvre Memorial Scholarship to Joshua Zaucha.















Al West presented the Terry J. Hanrahan Memorial Scholarship to Seamus Morrison















Dave Watson presented the Armand & Florence Amado Memorial Scholarship to Kristen Amelia Hoj.










Don Scanlin presented the Shari Skinner Memorial Scholarship to Caden Ghen.














Larry Meyer presented the Dr. Youssef and Patricia Mawardi Career and Technical Education Scholarship to Madison Landsverk.










Jeff Loebl presented the Father Glynn Memorial Scholarship to Lizet Ruiz.





Dr. Frank Finck presented the Frank & Maudette Finck Scholarship award to Adriana Diaz.















Don Reed presented the Robert E. Chesley Memorial Scholarship to Maria Garcia.















Tony Thatcher presented the Thatcher Family Scholarship to Kloe Keeter.


















Anne Thatcher presented the Friend Family Scholarship to Berenice Morales Maya.














Lerie Bjornstedt presented the Bjornstedt Family Trust Scholarship to Audrey Hernandez Peterson.












Suzanne Scar presented the Rotary General College Scholarship to Mikyla McGhee.























Dr. Fauvre presented the Service Above Self for Cross Country Team of Nordhoff High School to April Jungo Garcia.

















Bob Davis presented the Dana Huffman Memorial Scholarship to Annalisa Zaucha.
















Bill and Mary Hatch presented the Hatch Family Scholarship to Emma Rose Allen.


















Doug Wilson presented the John and Ginger Wilson Scholarship to Claire Woolson.


















Ms. Scar recognized the school counselors: Jane Napora, Sarah Escobar and Jennifer Thompson. Ms. Scar also recognized the family members of the students. A standing ovation was given to recognize all the talented students and awardees of this year's Rotary Educational Scholarships.



Coming Up Next Week...

Mike Scar and Ren Adam--Get Acquainted Talks


Haady Lashkari

Chief Administrative Officer, OVCH

Please add to your safe sender list or address book.
To unsubscribe from future e-mails, click here.
To forward this email to your friends, click here.
To view our privacy policy, click here.
102-2060 Winston Park Drive, Oakville, ON, L6H 5R7
ClubRunner is a registered trademark of Doxess Technologies Inc.
© 2016 ClubRunner. All Rights Reserved.